Versatile Corner IF and RBI Hitter with College Experience available 2021-22 | Baseball Jobs Overseas

Versatile Corner IF and RBI Hitter with College Experience available 2021-22

Name: Cordell Bowie

Height: 185cm

Weight: 93kg

DOB: September 9, 1998

Date Available: December 1, 2021

Will Pay Flight

Bats: R

Throws: R

Positions: 1B, 3B

Positions (alt): 2B, RF, LF

College: East Central University

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

I pride myself on having the ability hit to all parts of the field. I am a student of the game and look to compete in everything I do. I am not afraid of failure in the box or while playing in the field. I bring experience and energy to a team.

Since 2016, other than 3rd base I have been asked to play 1st base, 2nd base, left field and right field so this proves my versatility in position playing.

I am a supportive teammate that brings energy on the field and in the dugout. I am looking to win, but to also  great environment. I am a very approachable teammate that looks to share and be given information. I am a teammate that is not the most vocal, but tries to lead by example.

Career Highlights

My sophomore year (2018) I went Second Team All-State at third base in the Western State Conference in California. I was picked to be apart of a leadership group of 7 people during my junior and senior years at East Central University (2018-2021). I was awarded the Strength and Conditioning: Athlete of the Year award in 2019 and 2021.

 

Coaching

If I choose to coach I would bring the energy my team needed on a daily basis. I also would bring a different level of understanding of what players go through and will go through because I have played the game my whole life. My coaching philosophy contains two rules: Be on time, and hustle. That is how I play and I think that all of the other stuff involving the game falls how it should when you do those two things first.

 

Overseas Goals

I am looking for opportunities to make playing this game my full-time job. I want to compete at a high level because I strongly believe my playing days are not over. I want to be challenged to be a better version of me everyday.

Working with JB Eary, a fielding coach in the Cleveland Indians organization over a few weeks period I picked up on a lot of little things I could improve upon. I have been working out with an old teammate of mine since I finished school in May 21′. I have kept a daily stretching, conditioning, throwing and hitting regimen that I made myself. I also participate in Jiu Jitsu classes 3 days a week and play in a softball league twice a week. I have maintained my playing weight since I last played in May of 2021.

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2016-18 Allan Hancock College Junior College/ Western State Conference Starting 3rd basemen, 3-4-5 hitter
2017-18 Nevada Jays Summer League 18u Starting 3rd base, 4-5 hitter
2019 Acadiana CaneCutters Texas Collegiate League Third/Second baseman, .396 OBP
2018-21 East Central University NCAA Division II Team Captain, Middle of Lineup Hitter

Coaching Experience

YEARROLEORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2019 Fielding Instructor Lafayette Little Leagues Youth Worked with players aged 5-14 on fielding basics/techniques.
2021 Hitting/Fielding Assistant Spring Valley High School High School Ran fielding drills, threw batting practice, helped gain more efficient footwork for all position players, and I practiced with these kids in the cage to develop more consistent swings.

Stats

College/Amateur Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2021 East Central University 27 60 14 10 2 1 1 8 18 29 1 0 .167 .386 .283
2020 East Central University 17 45 12 13 5 0 1 12 7 14 1 0 .289 .382 .467
2019 East Central University 44 128 14 37 7 2 4 29 20 46 5 1 .289 .388 .469

Video Highlights

Testimonials

Chris Stevens

Allan Hancock College, Head Coach
cstevens@hancockcollege.edu

Chad Rogers

East Central University, Assistant Coach

I had the privilege of working with Cordell for two years at East Central University. During those two years, I watched Cordell not only grow as a player but more importantly as a young man. I watched him take pride in work ethic and being a great teammate. He faced adversity throughout both seasons and overcame every challenge he was faced with and became a better player and person because of it. He was always self-motivated and self-driven. When asked to lead or be a part of something, his answer was always "yes sir". He constantly was a student of the game, always looking for an edge to make himself better. During both of those seasons, those teams struggled to find an identity and direction; severely needing good leadership. Cordell was a player that could be relied upon to do things the right way, regardless of the uncertainty and chaos around him. It is an honor to be a small part of Cordell's life.

JB Eary

Cleveland Indians, Player Development

I got to know Cordell last winter in Las Vegas. He had a mature approach to his work in preparing himself for his college season and great focus during his workouts. He has a solid, whole field approach with the ability to drive the ball to the gaps. Defensively, he is an athlete with the ability to pick up new actions and positions quickly. He has solid arm strength that would allow him to play 3B without any issues, and has the athleticism and work ethic to play and/or learn other positions as well (as he has already shown). Very coachable and professional, would be a great addition to a roster.

Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Australia Semi-pro (State Leagues), Australia Pro (Australian Baseball League), New Zealand Semi-pro, South Africa Semi-pro, Asia Pro (Japan, Korea, Taiwan), Canada semi-pro (Intercounty Baseball League, NBSBL, QSBL, etc.), Latin America pro (Guatemala, Colombia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, DR, etc)

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self), Shared living arrangement, own bedroom, Shared living arrangement, shared bedroom, Give me a floor, pillow and a mat to sleep on, Host Family

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: No

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: No

 

Traveling with a companion: Perhaps for a short term visit

 

Educational background: Bachelors degree in Sociology. Masters degree in Sports Administration in progress.