Australian-American Infield/Utility and Contact Hitter with experience in the ABL and coaching ability available 2023 | Baseball Jobs Overseas

Australian-American Infield/Utility and Contact Hitter with experience in the ABL and coaching ability available 2023

Name: Wade McConnon

Height: 178cm

Weight: 82kg

DOB: January 5, 1990

Date Available: January 3, 2023

Foreign Pro experience Will Pay Flight

Bats: R

Throws: R

Positions: 2B, 3B, SS

Positions (alt): Youth Coach, OF, C, RF, CF, LF

College: Southeastern Community College; Cypress College California

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

Contact hitter that finds base a lot. Reliable and solid infielder that can lead a team from the Short stop position.

Recent years batting average from Victorian State League:
2019: AVG = .357/OBP = .403
2020: AVG = .263/OBP = .333
2021: AVG = .259/OBP = .437
2022: AVG = .303

Catching is a secondary position, however extremely adequate if required (pop time 2.00).

I played Catcher throughout my junior baseball years and was selected in this position for the National team in 2008. While Catching is my favourite position, I developed more as infielder in my collegiate years. By circumstance I continued as an infielder when I returned to Australia after my college years. However, I am very capable in this position.

 

Being an older player I have experienced baseball across multiple platforms. I have had college experience, Australian Professional league experience and Australian State league experience. These experiences have taught me a lot about the game of baseball, both technical skills and mental application. I pride myself on sharing the knowledge I have obtained with both team mates and fellow coaches. Further to this, I am an incredibly hard working person that leads by example. I am a big believer in practicing the way you wish to play, which makes my intensity in practice and games high energy. I am a smart and knowledgeable baseball player, who’s always looking for weakness in opposition to exploit. As a team mate I am generally positive in nature, however as a coach I do have the ability to be firm and direct. Depending on the situation, I can use multiple techniques to get the best outcome for my team mates and players (when coaching), while remaining in control and clear about my intent.

 

Career highlights 

2008 – Finals MVP for Victorian state senior mens league.
2008 – Selected for an Australian National junior team that toured Canada and USA.
2009 – All Conference academics while playing for Southeast CC, Iowa
2010 – All conference academics while playing for Cypress College California
2010 – Lead Cypress College batting average with a .360 average. (Approx. 100 at bats).
2014 – Club MVP for Waverley Baseball Club (Victorian State League, Australia)
2020 – Appearances in the Australian Baseball League for the Adelaide Giants
2021 – Appearances in the Australian Baseball League for the Adelaide Giants
2022 – Currently on an ABL roster with the Melbourne Aces

 

Coaching

I am a enthusiastic and technical coach that offers a mix of modern baseball technology and terminology with old school work ethic.  Whilst I enjoy the technical element of hitting and infield, I believe the game of baseball requires much more than acquiring and improving skill sets. The game of baseball teaches us about our selfs, I try to tap into that when working with young athletes getting them to identify and understand their ability and perceived boundaries. I challenge athletes on these boundaries and get great joy when obstacles and perceptions are overcome.

 

Overseas Goals

In the past 3 seasons, I have had the opportunity to play in the Australian Baseball League. Although I have been playing in the Victorian State league for the last 10 years, the ABL experience has sparked an endeavour to utilise my skills abroad. During this time in the ABL I have had conversations with teammates who have played abroad and boast about the experience. I am looking for a club that can provide me both a baseball experience and a life experience.

I am currently active on an ABL roster.

 

Testimonials

 

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2009 Southeastern Community College NJCAA Played 3B, 2B and OF.
2010 Cypress College Junior College - CCCAA Starting 3B, batted 2nd. Led the team in avg with .360.
2015-Present Upwey Ferntree Gully Tigers Victorian State League 1, Australia
2022 Melbourne Aces Australian Baseball League (Pro) 2B and DH.

Coaching Experience

YEARROLEORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2013 Assistant Coach U18 Victorian State Team Youth Coached a state representative team in the National Junior Championships.
2020-Present Infield and Hitting Coach Academy of Baseball Excellence Youth A program designed to prepare the most elite juniors in the state of Victoria for college baseball in the USA. Players ranged from ages 15 to 19.

Stats

Pro/Overseas Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2022 Melbourne Aces 3 7 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 3 0 0 .143 .333 .143

College/Amateur Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Southeastern Community College 28 64 11 14 1 0 1 18 14 - 1 0 .219 .400 .234
2018-19 Upwey-Ferntree Gully 62 9 20 2 1 0 9 4 13 3 0 .357 .403 .429
2019-20 Upwey-Ferntree Gully 23 80 12 21 4 0 0 5 9 14 3 0 .263 .333 .312
2021-22 Upwey-Ferntree Gully 16 54 13 14 2 0 0 8 15 5 5 1 .259 .437 .296
2022-23 (In Progress) Upwey-Ferntree Gully - 37 8 10 2 0 0 3 6 4 1 1 .270 .386 .324

Testimonials

Peter Moylan

Melbourne Aces Manager

"Wade quickly became one of my favourite players to manage this year. He is a fantastic utility play who plays all infield positions well and even outfield if needed.
Excellent bat to ball skills, line drive hitter who rarely strikes out and works at bats well.

Wade is an exceptional team guy who makes those around him better."

Donavan Hendricks

Upwey FTG Baseball Club, Head Coach
donavon.kirchner@hotmail.com

Letter of Recommendation posted above.

Peter Giles

Academy of Baseball Excellence, Head Coach
baseballpete60@hotmail.com

Letter of Recommendation posted above.

Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Latin America pro (Guatemala, Colombia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, DR, etc)

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self)

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: No

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: No

 

Traveling with a companion: I have a wife and 1 year old son. To accomodate them for some part of the season would be ideal.

 

Educational background: Bachelors Degree in Sports Management (min exercise science)
Diploma of Building and Construction