Available 2024: USVI National Team Two-Way Starting Pitcher/OF with experience in college, Germany, and Poland throwing FB(89-93)/CT/SL/SP. Coaching Ability | Baseball Jobs Overseas

Available 2024: USVI National Team Two-Way Starting Pitcher/OF with experience in college, Germany, and Poland throwing FB(89-93)/CT/SL/SP. Coaching Ability

Name: Tahj Cunningham

Height: 175cm

Weight: 73kg

DOB: October 23, 1999

Date Available: March 13, 2024

Bats: S

Throws: R

Positions: SP, RP

Positions (alt): OF, CF

College: Lake-Sumter State College

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

On the primary position side, I’m primarily a starting pitcher. I can start games and give quality pitching deep into ball games. I also have Experience being a reliever/closer as well. I believe my 89-93mph fastball paired with my cutter, slider and split can make for an effective pitch mix. Also being smaller in height with a high 3/4 arm angle, it can provide an uncomfortable angle for the hitter to have to hit from. I also bring grit and intense mentality to the mound while still keeping respect for the game and opposing teams. As far as secondary positions, I can provide depth to the outfield, being able to play and be comfortable in all 3 outfield spots. I’m a 6.5 runner so I can cover ground and provide solid defense. I’m also a switch hitter with decent pop for size, so I can provide a lead off/speedy type bat with some versatility and ability to be a base stealing threat.

I am extremely comfortable at my secondary position (outfield). I was originally both an outfielder and pitcher at the beginning of my baseball career, so I have a number of years and experience playing both ways. I played both ways in my most recent season (Germany, Bundesliga 1st Division) was able to make an impact on both sides of the ball. Playing both ways is usually a deal breaker for most primary pitcher, but for me I’m more than happy and able to play a 2 way role.

I’m a teammate who love to see my guys having fun and being loose. By nature, I’m the clown in the clubhouse cracking jokes and having fun, because I feel like when everyone is having fun it gives us the best chance to win. I love winning so I’m also pretty good at keeping my teammates in the game. I usually go around the dugout striking up conversations about specific at bats or pitch sequences to make sure we are all seeing the same thing. I’m a big analytics guy so I definitely love spreading knowledge and giving tips both on the pitching and hitting side. In Germany last season (2022) I had a group chat where anyone who wanted to from the team could ask to go to the field, and I would meet them there and give tips whenever they wanted. I’m definitely a hands on and passionate teammate, but don’t like to rock the boat so I always make sure there is respect and kindness. I try to be a brother off the field to my teammates. Anyone who’s needs something off the field, I will always be there for them. We are all a family when it comes to the team. Baseball is my #1 passion I love to spread knowledge as much as I love to play.

 

Career highlights

I attended Lincoln high school (Tallahassee, Florida, 2014-2018) and had the pleasure of being on the first and only school state championship (7A district) in 2017 as the starting left fielder. Also, while representing the US Virgin Islands National Team, I won player of the tournament in the 2019 COCABE tournament in Boca Chica, DR.

 

Coaching

To be honest, I have never been a full on coach before, however, I was able to be a mentor to the youth baseball players and help any younger players who asked during my time in Germany. I am very much willing to coach, and I think both my loose personality and knowledge of the game can make it both fun and stimulating for players while trying to teach advanced concepts. I’m not one to expect people to get anything right the first time, and I’m very patient. So I would have no problems being assigned as a coach despite my lack of coaching experience.

 

Overseas Goals

I would love to take my career overseas because it’s honestly where I’m the most comfortable. Though I understand baseball is a business when investing time and money into a player, the teams in the US tend to treat you like just another number, versus overseas the front office staff and coaches were a lot more transparent with what they needed out of me. When I had my first taste of overseas baseball In 2022, I noticed some important things like what position I’m expected to play, travel to and from, jerseys, housing, eating situation, etc, we’re laid out right from the get go. So I had better idea of what I had to cover and what the team was covering. Also, because of all the time I’ve spend playing with the US Virgin Islands National Team, I’m more comfortable and used to playing outside of the  US. I also love to travel, so playing baseball overseas has allowed me to see places I never thought possible. I also want a chance to help grow the game. In Germany, I was so happy to see the game growing especially amongst the youth, and I would love to continue spreading that knowledge and passion world wide. I also have the goal of making it to a major overseas league (nippon, kbo, Chinese baseball league, lmb, etc) and want to play baseball as long as I can at the highest level I can. But also if I find a country that I love it in, I’m more than happy to finish my baseball career there. Ive got a burning passion for the game and want to play at a high level for as long as I can.

I’m very fortunate to have a cousin who’s a former big leaguer (Donzell McDonald) who’s a current scout for the Texas Rangers, who when I was younger had me on a regiment that I still follow today. I have a group of pitchers and catchers, and we all go through the regimen and train together. So I do my arm regimen everyday except Sundays. I’m also in gym 3 times a week, and am pretty much training baseball full time. I also throw frequent in live bp sessions and hit in them as well (2-3 times a week). I also go down to spring training complexes in Florida and throw in intersquads against minor league talent 3-4 times a month. My most recent time throwing at a spring training complex was yesterday (Monday, June 12th) against the Canadian national team and blue jays complex team. The training for me is very regimented, strict, and frequent. I take training very seriously because if a team needs me, I want to be able to make an impact instantly.

 

Articles/Recognitions

2 Virgin Islanders to showcase baseball skills at Fla. colleges

Videos

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2018 Texas Rangers Scout Team Prospect Wire League Closer/CF, lead off hitter (most saves, most stolen bases).
2019 Lake-Sumter State College NJCAA
2020 Florida-Caribbean Baseball League Starting pitcher/closer/OF, batted leadoff.
2020 Platinum Post-Grad Baseball Amateur adult
2022 Berlin Flamingos German Bundesliga SP/OF. Batted leadoff and 5th. Team's best defensive player.
2018-Present U.S. Virgin Islands National Team WBSC 2018 COCABE: Long relief/closer, LF, batted 2nd. 2019 COCABE: SP/Closer. 2021 COCABE: SP/Closer/OF, leadoff batter. 2022 WBC Qualifier: Long relief/closer.
2023 Piraci Władysławowo Baltyck liga baseballu Pitcher/Centerfielder, clean up hitter
2023-24 Mulgrave Rebels Victoria State League (Australia) Half-Season (January-March)

Stats

Pro/Overseas Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2022 Berlin Flamingos - 25 7 6 0 0 1 2 4 5 2 0 .240 .345 .360
2023 Piraci Władysławowo (Poland) 4 12 9 9 3 0 1 9 2 2 5 0 .750 .833 1.250

Pro/Overseas Pitching

Year Team ERA GS CG IP H SO BB HBP R ER Wins Losses SV WHIP
2022 U.S. Virgin Islands National Team 11.57 0 0 2.1 4 1 3 1 4 3 0 1 0 3.333
2023 Piraci Władyławowo (Poland 0.00 1 0 3 0 8 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0.33
2024 Mulgrave Rebels 2.25 1 0 16 5 27 11 1 6 4 1 0 1.00

Video Highlights

Testimonials

Raul Gonzalez

Florida-Caribbean Baseball, league owner/coach

Greg białas

Head coach/GM of Piraci Władyslawowo (Poland)
gregbialas@gmail.com


Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Australia Semi-pro (State Leagues), Australia Pro (Australian Baseball League), New Zealand Semi-pro, Asia Pro (Japan, Korea, Taiwan), Canada semi-pro (Intercounty Baseball League, NBSBL, QSBL, etc.)

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self), Shared living arrangement, own bedroom.

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: No

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: No injuries or illnesses

 

Traveling with a companion: No

 

Educational background: After graduating high school, I obtained a general associates