German Corner Infielder Seeking Opportunity in 2021 and 2022 | Baseball Jobs Overseas

German Corner Infielder Seeking Opportunity in 2021 and 2022

Name: Paul Simon

Height: 190cm

Weight: 95kg

DOB: September 28, 1991

Date Available: December 1, 2021

Will Pay Flight

Bats: L

Throws: R

Positions: 1B

Positions (alt): 3B, RF

College:

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

I bring engagement, the will to learn and to continue helping my team.

I’ve played two years with my clubs 2. team at my primary position. In the first year we won the championship.

I am open minded, helpful, and always ready to listen to my mates.

 

Career highlights

  • Playing in the second-highest division in Germany

 

Coaching

I’m currently coaching my Baseball Team in Karlsruhe (Germany) although I have only been playing baseball for 4 years.

 

Overseas Goals

After playing baseball in the same club for 4 years, I would like to get to know baseball somewhere else.

In the offseason, I do my prep work. I do the basic simple things at home to stay in shape.

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2018-19 Karlsruhe Cougars German Bundesliga 2 Corner INF

Stats

College/Amateur Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 Karlsruhe 5 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 4 5 1 0 .000 .313 .000
2019 Karlsruhe 17 47 1 6 0 0 0 2 4 13 0 0 .128 .212 .128

Video Highlights

Testimonials

Gordon Niemann

Teammate in Karlsruhe

I have known him now for roughly 2 years.
During that time, he has emerged within the clubhouse as a complete leader.
His attitude towards the game and his teammates is simply exemplary.
While Baseball in Germany always struggles with support, Paul stepped up by taking over the First Men´s team as a coach this year.
His love for the game and his desire to learn more about it with every passing day is undeniable.
He studies strategies and practice set-ups rigorously and cares a great deal.
While I am aware that he would be missed in Karlsruhe if the opportunity arises for him to learn more about the game overseas, I wish him only the best in his future endeavor.
He will be truly missed here.

Florian Funk

Teammate in Karlsruhe

I met Paul in 2018 when I joined the Team (Karlsruhe Cougars) in which Paul was playing. At this time there were 2 Teams (Men´s Team 1 and 2). We both played in the second team. I believe Paul just started playing Baseball at this time with a lot of knowledge already. Since he is athletic it was no problem for him to adapt the game and plays quickly. He was working a lot on his throwing and hitting motion, it was important to him to learn it correctly.

At this time the first team didn´t have a lot of players which is why they needed players from the second team to help them out. For two seasons Paul helped them out every game. Not only did he had games for the the second team but also for the first. The first team played double header which means Paul had three games every weekend.

After that Paul and I started playing for the first team but then Corona came and cancelled the whole season, just like the season this year. After the last season our coach left because he got her firstborn. So we were looking for a new one, without success. So Paul agreed on being the coach for this season, also because he got injured and had to take a step back and rest for a while which was not easy for him.
Paul is not just training us he is also maintaining the field.
Enough storytelling, to sum it up: Paul is an athetic player, knows his game and learns quickly. He is very ambitious and competetive. He gets serious on the field and laughs with me when practice is over. Such a great personality and knows how to communicate with people. I wish him the very best for his overseas career and cannot wait to find out where it draws him.

Peter Schumann

Teammate in Karlsruhe since my first Day

Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Canada semi-pro (Intercounty Baseball League, NBSBL, QSBL, etc.)

 

Living preferences: Shared living arrangement, own bedroom, Give me a floor, pillow and a mat to sleep on, Host Family

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: No

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: I had a thrombose in my throwing arm (sep. 2019). In dez 2020 i got a surgery where my first neck rib was removed. It’s hard to say how long it will take, but it is important for me to do sports so that my veins can widen again.

 

Traveling with a companion: No

 

Educational background: Secondary school leaving certificate 2008, Education as a media designer