Catcher/Utility Player Seeking Opportunity Overseas in 2021; Willing to Pay Flights | Baseball Jobs Overseas

Catcher/Utility Player Seeking Opportunity Overseas in 2021; Willing to Pay Flights

Name: Neil Ring

Height: 178cm

Weight: 84kg

DOB: September 7, 1996

Date Available: April 1, 2021

Will Pay Flight

Bats: R

Throws: R

Positions: 3B, C, RF, LF

Positions (alt): Utl, 2B, SS, RP, CF

College: Spring Hill College

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

What specific skills do you bring to the ball field?

I am a very passionate athlete that is willing to learn and go outside my comfort zone. I like to hit line drives and create wins for my team by driving in runs.

Catcher Velo: 82.7
Exit Velo: 94

Summarize any career highs, achievements, recognitions, awards

Fielded .990 in 91 NCAA D2 games (91 Games, 85 Starts)
NCAA D2 Regional Appearance(Spring Hill College)

Describe yourself as a teammate

I am willing to always assist a teammate. Sometimes I can be a vocal leader, but I am more effective when I Iead by action. I enjoy dugouts that are loose, but competitive at the same time. I love helping out where I can and am known to always be at the field or in the cage with my teammates.

Explain your experience and abilities at your secondary positions

I grew up playing many positions, granted the opportunity to learn each position and the strengths that come with each spot. I believe being versatile and flexible can actually strengthen your ability at any primary position. My goal is to emulate guys such as J.T. Realmuto and Thurman Munson during my time on the field.

Why do you want to take your career overseas?

I’m looking for more opportunities. I believe overseas leagues will be the best opportunity for me to grow my game and expand into bigger experiences. I want to learn to play with people with different styles.

If you have not competed recently, explain what you have been doing to stay sharp and in shape

I played summer ball in 2020, but Covid-19 disinterested me from playing another year of NCAA. I work part-time as an instructor at a facility in Anchorage, Alaska. There, I am able to workout, take batting practice, catch and throw which has renewed and strengthened my love for the game, urging me to seek new opportunities.

In a paragraph or two, summarize what you bring to the table as a coach

My goal is to be able to communicate with any player that’s willing to listen and maximize their potential.

 

Articles/Recognitions:

 

Overseas goals:

  • Extend my baseball career
  • Experience new cultures and meet new people
  • Use my knowledge and experience to help grow the game globally

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2015-16 Old Dominion University NCAA DI Bullpen Catcher (Redshirt)
2016 Connecticut Titans Summer Collegiate League Rotation Catcher and Utility Player
2016-19 Spring Hill College NCAA DII 2nd Catcher and DH Senior Year
2017 Weyburn Beavers Western Canadian Baseball League 2nd Catcher
2019-20 Nyack College NCAA DII Utility Player

Stats

College/Amateur Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Weyburn 24 75 11 15 1 0 0 6 16 20 1 0 .200 .375 .213
2018 Spring Hill 21 65 16 19 2 0 0 16 6 16 1 0 .292 .360 .323
2019 Spring Hill 42 106 20 27 7 0 1 26 21 33 2 1 .255 .349 .407
2020 Nyack 5 16 0 5 0 0 0 1 1 4 2 0 .313 .389 .313

Video Highlights

Testimonials

These Testimonials Have Been Verified

Walker Bullington

Rend Lake College, Head Coach

“Neil is a great kid who has experience at multiple levels of college baseball. Smart player who loves to work on his craft. Constantly in the cage swinging and working behind the plate. A smart and versatile player who can move around and play IF as well. Can call a game behind the plate effectively and the arm plays. Very good work ethic, a great teammate, and a very mature kid who will thrive playing and making a life overseas. I coached Neil personally and know he would be a great addition and add value to any program.”

Frank Sims

Spring Hill College, Head Coach

"Neil has a strong passion for the game! He has a very good work ethic and is a good coachable young man. He had to go through a very difficult time when he first arrived at Spring Hill. His mother passed away a few weeks into the Fall season. He was very close to her so it really hurt him and we had several long talks about what had happened. He rebounded pretty well and started to put a lot of his energy into baseball. He would split time at catcher and DH when he didn’t catch. He throws 2.0 to second and is pretty accurate! When the pitchers did their job he had a good chance to throw them out! Blocks the ball pretty well also. A good contact hitter with gap-to-gap power.

Seemed to be a good teammate and had a mature way about him. I have seen teams play in Europe and I think he would do fine."

Joe Wagner

Blair Academy, Head Baseball Coach

"Neil is a tireless worker who is never satisfied with his performance, and this drives him to put in the hours necessary to be successful in his craft. Neil is a tried and true student of the game, whose wisdom and ingenuity spans beyond his age. He keeps current with the most up-to-date understanding of the mechanics of the game, and he uses this information and data to inform his preparation. There is no detail too small for Neil, and he is not afraid to spend time in pursuit of progress. As a teammate, Neil is a quintessential team player. In high school, there wasn’t a position that Neil didn’t play, but wherever he played, he was an impact player. This is a testament to Neil’s versatility as a player as well as an athlete. Neil is the total package, and any team would be lucky to have him."

Additional Info

Playing Preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Australia Semi-pro (State Leagues), Australia Pro (Australian Baseball League), New Zealand Semi-pro, South Africa Semi-pro, Asia Pro (Japan, Korea, Taiwan), Canada semi-pro (Intercounty Baseball League, NBSBL, QSBL, etc.), Latin America pro (Guatemala, Colombia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, DR, etc), Philippines

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self), Shared living arrangement, own bedroom, Host Family

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: N/A

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: I found out a month ago I had a dislocated hip socket, vertebrae anomaly and hypertrophy of my back for some time. It has been treated and I feel nearly 100%.
Also, getting hit by a drunk driver in July 2019 did not help my unknown hip/back problems.
I choose to step away from the game due to Covid-19 and pain, but I am eager for another opportunity. 

 

Traveling with a companion: Yes

 

Educational background B.A. of Science, Financial Economics(Spring Hill College, 2019)