1B/OF Lefty Power Hitter, Division I Conference Champion and All-Conference selection available in 2022 | Baseball Jobs Overseas

1B/OF Lefty Power Hitter, Division I Conference Champion and All-Conference selection available in 2022

Name: Mason Velasquez

Height: 190.5cm

Weight: 102kg

DOB: September 26, 1998

Date Available: June 26, 2022

Bats: L

Throws: L

Positions: 1B, LF

Positions (alt): OF, RF, LF

College: Bryant & Stratton College; Norfolk State University;Benedictine University

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

Mason has good power at the plate but can also hit for average and drop down a bunt when needed.  His exit velocity ranges from the mid- to high-90s and has reached as high as 103 (mph).

Defensively, he is primarily a first baseman but also has experience in left field and can play centerfield and left field, as well.  He makes good routes to the ball in the outfield, which helps him get to balls others might not.

Mason is a lead-by-example type of player, but he can be vocal when a situation calls for hit. He is a very supportive teammate and does whatever he can to help his teammates.

He continues to work out and train regularly to stay in top condition and keep his baseball skills at a high level.

 

Career Highlights

  • Experience at junior-college, NCAA Division I and summer league levels in the U.S.

  • 2021 PSCL Pre-Season Top 5 Prospect

  • 2020-2021 Pre-season all-conference

  • 1st-team All-MEAC first baseman

  • Team won 2021 conference title

  • Bryant & Stratton Dean’s List 3x

  • Dean’s List and Academic Honors at Norfolk State University

  • Junior College

    • Averaged .328 with .393 OPB in two seasons

    • 35 percent of hits for extra bases

    • 100-percent success rate at base-stealing

  • NCAA Division I

    • Averaged .282 with .370 OPB in two seasons

    • 27 percent of hits for extra bases

    • 100-percent success rate at base-stealing

  • High School

    • Second-team all-district in junior and senior seasons

 

Overseas Goals

Mason wants to take his career overseas so he can experience the world and see how different cultures approach the game.  “I want to travel and have the opportunity to play baseball – that would be life-changing.”

 

Articles/Recognitions

MEAC Announces 2021 Baseball Postseason Honors

104 Spartans Earn Athletics Directors Honor Roll Recognition

 

Videos

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2017-18 Bryant & Stratton College NJCAA Starting LF, middle of the lineup, mainly cleanup
2019-21 Norfolk State University NCAA Division I Starting LF and 1B, middle of the lineup hitter, 1st team All-MEAC first baseman
2018, 2020-21 Palm Springs Power Palm Springs Collegiate League 2018: First base/Left field, 3/4 hitter in the lineup. 2020: First base/DH, 4/5 hitter. 2021: First base/LF, 3/4 hitter. PSCL Pre Season Top 5 Prospect
2021-2022 Benedictine University NAIA Starting 1B, moving from 3,4,5 in the order.

Coaching Experience

YEARROLEORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2017-2018 Camp Instructor Bryant & Stratton College Youth Fielding, throwing, hitting, and base running.
2018-21 Camp Instructor Norfolk State University Youth Coached a travel team that we shared an indoor facility with and spent 30 minutes with the kids on hitting and swinging off the tee, coaching their swings while our coach supervised.

Stats

College/Amateur Batting

Years Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB SO SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 Bryant & Stratton 37 121 31 46 10 1 3 42 13 24 1 0 .380 .461 .554
2018 Bryant & Stratton 48 146 30 41 15 0 1 27 23 31 9 0 .281 .408 .404
2020 Norfolk State 16 63 7 19 2 0 1 6 5 13 3 - .302 .362 .381
2021 Norfolk State 52 174 28 48 9 1 5 24 28 39 8 - .276 .383 .425
2021 PSCL Coyotes 13 28 12 13 2 1 2 9 8 5 2 .464 .568 .821

Video Highlights

Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Australia Semi-pro (State Leagues), Australia Pro (Australian Baseball League), New Zealand Semi-pro, Asia Pro (Japan, Korea, Taiwan), Canada semi-pro (Intercounty Baseball League, NBSBL, QSBL, etc.), Latin America pro (Guatemala, Colombia, Nicaragua, Venezuela, DR, etc)

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self), Shared living arrangement, own bedroom, Shared living arrangement, shared bedroom, Host Family

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: Possibly for graduation of my masters degree in the fall

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: Injured my left shoulder in 2020 right before covid. Minor tear of my labrum, did 3-4 months of 3x a week rehab on my shoulder and was back throwing by the fall. Appendectomy in December of 2021.

 

Traveling with a companion: Perhaps for a short term visit

 

Educational background: Finishing my Masters degree in the fall. 2 undergrad degrees.