Still Available 2024: Independent Pro Pitcher throwing low-90s with Experience in Mexico, Germany, and Canada and Coaching Ability | Baseball Jobs Overseas

Still Available 2024: Independent Pro Pitcher throwing low-90s with Experience in Mexico, Germany, and Canada and Coaching Ability

Name: Christian Herrera

Height: 190.5cm

Weight: 92kg

DOB: August 20, 1992

Date Available: April 1, 2024

Indy Pro experience

Bats: R

Throws: R

Positions: SP, RP

Positions (alt): SP, RP

College: New Mexico Highlands University

Contact info is for active player or club subscribers only. Sign Up Now!

Personal

I feel like I’m just a very versatile pitcher, who can fulfill all roles on a pitching staff at a very high level. I’m constantly working to make adjustments and have recently been throwing the hardest I’ve been since my rookie year. I was recently in spring training with a Mexican minor league and sat 89-93 with a T94. I have a really good curveball and can keep hitters off balance, and I constantly want to learn and do everything for the team.

I became a starter in 2021 with a few spot starts. But I realized that if I can be used for long relief, why not train to go longer? So in the off-season of 2021,  I pitched with zone 22 and started extending myself and found myself to be pretty effective against many former affiliate players.

I come with an open mind and open heart. I’m very loose and can bring the energy once I’m on that field. I also love helping out my teammates whether it’s with improving pitching mechanics issues, pitch grips, or catching in the pen, I’ll even front toss for my hitters. I also won’t let my performance affect the energy and backing of my guys. Just a huge team guy here. Along with the other traits that I have to offer, I really have learned to be resilient. This year especially since I had to endure being released. It was part of the business that I hadn’t experienced since my rookie year. Learning how to bounce back again even when things like that happen, I feel really helps in what I bring to the table. With all that being said, I’m looking for very high level competition. I’m also strictly looking for spring/summer opportunities. Unfortunately for Australia I do not qualify for a work visa due to my age. However,  I do run a pitching training business and can make income that way but I would need a minimum six clients to commit to my program for my entire time there.

 

Career highlights

I’ve been a part of 3 consecutive playoff runs for my team and winning a championship in 2021 for the Mavericks league playing under Daniel Robertson (former big leaguer and current bench coach in the Cleveland Guardians org).

 

Coaching

I’ve coached four different youth travel organizations. I have learned a lot from fellow coaches! As my own business has  grown in training pitchers, I have seen vast improvements in all my clients. For example, I have one client that I helped gain 8 mph in velocity in six weeks of working with him. I feel like what I have to teach is very valuable and guarantees results. Not only do I believe in my training for the kids or for others, but I do it myself. I wouldn’t have anyone else doing something that I wouldn’t do. I love nothing more than the opportunity to spread my knowledge.

 

Overseas Goals

Now that I have two years in a row of competing overseas, I love being able to see how the game is played around the world! If there’s anything that I feel is vital to team success, it’s a team that plays the game the right way in all aspects(hitting, defense, and pitching). I’d like to be part of a team that takes pride in their play and fights till the end of every game. Being that I’ve been unsigned for so long, I really have a chip on my shoulder. So whoever decides to give me an opportunity, You will get everything I have!!

I’ve been playing in games all off-season, very fortunate for that in Southern California. In these games and film, I’m competing against some of the best free agents in the US all off-season from MLB affiliates to independent leagues. It keeps me sharp, so I specifically put game film from these off-season games so that clubs can see everything. Because of the good weather I am in midseason form, and come completely in shape and ready to go deep in games. my goal is to go as deep as possible into every game I pitch my team the best chance to win!

Playing Experience

YEARSORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2013-14 Mt. San Jacinto College NJCAA Reliever that faced every top junior college in Southern California and did my job.
2017-18 New Mexico Highlands University NCAA Division II I faced a few top 10 schools in the the country for division 2 and shut them down. Few examples being West Texas A&M and Colorado Mesa.
2019 San Rafael Pacifics, Salina Stockade Pacific Association
2020 California Dogecoin Liberation League This was a Covid league that I didn’t even plan on playing in. I came in towards the end of the season for reinforcements in the bullpen and to help with the playoff push. It was a great experience as we had all sorts of current affiliate players in the league looking to just stay active that year.
2021 Campesinos de Salem-Keizer Mavericks Independent Baseball League This is where I got my feet wet as a starter. Since I was very determined to get as many innings as possible, and help the team in anyway, I did what I had never done before. I am forever grateful for this experience, as I was able to contribute to a championship. I had great coaching where every day I went to the field, I always asked questions so I could learn something new. Sure enough Daniel Robertson always had something new to teach and it’s an experience that will forever be invaluable to me.
2022 Hamburg Stealers German Bundesliga Starting pitcher, regular season starts to help secure a spot in the playoffs. I was brought in late in the season.
2023 Brantford Red Sox Intercounty Baseball League This wasn’t a very pleasant playing experience. I mean this from an all-around standpoint. I didn’t have the best off-season to give me the confidence going into season. I didn’t have the greatest first three appearances which ultimately led me to be released. It was not my decision to leave. I wanted to stay and prove that I could fight through a bad start to the season.
2023 Garching Atomics German Division 2 Off the field, this was a great experience. On the field, not so much. I averaged 7 to 9 strikeouts per game. Which normally puts the team in the best position to win. However, with my defense averaging five errors a game and averaging four runs scored offensively, we weren’t given the best chance to win games. It was a very frustrating experience as the team was very uncommitted to practice, games, etc. which is why I am very adamant about playing with a team that is committed and won’t do things like go on vacation during the season and not show up to practice. I had 28 innings pitched but I’m only able to find 10 of those innings on the website.
2024 Faraones de Nuevo Casas Grandes Liga Estatal de Chihuahua This was a great high level experience! This was a minor league for Liga Mexicana de béisbol. I played in front of 1,500-3,000 fans a night in very hostile environments both at home and away. This gave me adrenaline rushes that had me throwing the hardest I have in game at 94! Although I didn’t make the final roster after good performance, I’m taking a lot of positives from this experience. I just proved myself right that I can play and compete at very high levels and can respond well to failure given that last year was a down year for me.

Coaching Experience

YEARROLEORGANIZATIONLEAGUE/DIVISIONDETAILS
2023 Pitching Coach Canes San Bernardino Baseball Youth I help with warm ups, throwing programs, mechanics, arm care and conditioning.
2023-present Pitching trainer Manifest Destiny Pitching Youth-Pro I started my own training business for pitchers in late 2023. I thought it would be great to get back to the game of baseball and make a business out of it as well. I have various clients from youth to pro guys. I know my training works because I do it myself and I have seen tremendous results not only for myself, but for my clients. I would love to pass on knowledge of what I have learned in all my years of training up to recently. My goal is to never stop learning, and to serve others.

Stats

Pro/Overseas Pitching

Year Team ERA GS CG IP H SO BB HBP R ER Wins Losses SV WHIP
2020 California Dogecoin 3.24 0 0 8.1 5 6 5 4 5 3 0 0 0 1.20
2021 Campesinos de Salem-Keizer 2.57 2 0 7.0 6 2 3 - 2 2 0 0 0 1.286
2022 Hamburg Stealers 1.17 3 0 15.1 9 10 14 3 6 2 2 1 0 1.50
2023 Garching Atomics 1.69 2 0 10.2 7 17 6 2 7 2 1 0 0 1.22

College/Amateur Pitching

Year Team ERA GS CG IP H SO BB HBP R ER Wins Losses SV WHIP
2017 New Mexico Highlands University 12.60 0 0 5.0 12 3 3 0 7 7 0 0 0 3.00
2018 New Mexico Highlands University 6.43 0 0 14.0 14 7 17 3 12 10 0 0 0 2.21

Video Highlights

Testimonials

These Testimonials Have Been Verified

Daniel Robertson

Cleveland Guardians Bench Coach in AA
danielr.robertson@yahoo.com

"He’s a great guy. Wants to learn and a great teammate. He was great for me. I haven’t seen him throw in a few years. I’m sure if I know him he will be coming in to help anyway he can! "

David Wohlgemuth

Hamburg Stealers Manager

"Christian is super guy! He can give about 3-4 good innings in a higher league. Off the field really great guy"

Brian Williams

California Dogecoin Manager

"Christian is dedicated to his training and has great clubhouse etiquette supporting his teammates in a positive way whether the team is winning or losing. He has continued to evolve his training and build on his experience of playing all over North America and in Europe. He is well positioned to pass his knowledge off to teammates or younger members of the club playing at the youth levels. He will be a great pickup as he is mid season form from the start of a season because of being located in Southern California and pitching consistently against professional hitters at the Zone 22 games."

Additional Info

Playing preferences: Europe Semi-pro (ie. Austria, Germany, Czech Republic, France etc.), Europe Pro (Italy, The Netherlands), Mexico if possible

 

Living preferences: Private living arrangement (apartment to self), Shared living arrangement, own bedroom, Host Family

 

Return home: I can stay as long as it takes to complete a season

 

Prior engagements: No

 

Recent injuries/illnesses: N/A

 

Traveling with a companion: Maybe to have a family visit but that’s a big IF.

 

Educational background: Bachelors degree